Sunday, February 22, 2009

Not grumpy

Ok, so I was a little grumpy when I wrote my last post LOL!!!! I am starting to feel better now. :-)Someone had mentioned that b-days and Xmas is only for kids.....so NOT true..... I'm not too happy that we have a registered sex offender living a few townhouses down from me and then to find out that he was involved in a botched robbery and is possibly a homicide suspect as well....nice huh! Needless to say I am working on finding legislation. Some states do not allow sex offenders to live within a certain distance from bus stops.....I am on the hunt. If anyone knows anything about that let me know.....

Thursday, February 19, 2009

BOYCOTT!!!

Ok, it is now official! I am boycotting Christmas and birthdays! Why in the world are they for 'kids' only.....what the hell ever! It's no different for me now than it was when I was little.....and yes I am sick and grumpy......till next time...

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Holidays

Well, the holidays are slowing down and I have actually spent most of the last two days cleaning. I still have laundry to do as well. Christmas just isn't the same anymore......kinda wish I was a kid again.....ho hum. Anyhoo, I am trying to decide if I want to buy a water filter for my sink......I know, the excitement is just overwhelming. I have spent time watching some mind numbing tv. I'm addicted to celebrity rehab and that turned me back on to loveline.....yeah I enjoy listening to the podcasts.....and it baffles me the guts some people have.....anyway, off to clean some more!

Monday, November 10, 2008

Just recovering

Well, I haven't written since last week. I have to say that last Tuesday was the longest day of my life! It felt really good to vote especially here in Cville. We have 2 running for congress and the democrat was behind and then sped ahead by 51 votes.....really makes you feel like your vote counts. Needless to say the republican candidate is asking for a recount. Turns out that 2 voting precincts in Charlottesville City didn't turn in ballots....and now our democrat Perriello is ahead by almost 900 votes...woohoo! Anyway, the best moment Tuesday night was 11:00 eastern time. I was just thinking they would announce the states that closed. I had not idea they were going to make the big announcement! Mariah had asked me to wake her but she was conked out. She ended up coming into my room at 4:30am to find out who won....ugh. Needless to say I didn't sleep much that entire week.....

Monday, November 3, 2008

Happy November!

It has been awhile but I am back to blogging. Tomorrow is a huge day! I'm excited, nervous, anxious and much much more. I have enjoyed the time being a part of this process. I just hope and pray that America makes the right choice. I hope our country's pieces can be put back together. Our school system, which is one of the best in the state of Virginia, has to come up with 11.4 million dollars for next year. We have already lost 15% of the current budget. Basically going to have to cut school days for students, increase class size, teachers will lose pay increases and positions will be cut, etc..... I would give anything to give back the $900 Bush sent me a few months back...am I alone in this thought.....I don't think so...thanks GEORGE!!! Take that money back and fix our schools, healthcare, etc. Am I alone to think that I would rather give up that money to know that our children will receive the best possible education. I have hope for our future. I received an email asking me silly questions about Obama not wanting to say the pledge or is he muslim (don't get me started with this new bigotry)....a bunch of garbage....and all I could think is ....how sad that they are missing this amazing and fascinating moment in time. Don't get me wrong.....I'm not just an emotional liberal........

Anyway, another issue I do not understand is prop 8 in California. Why don't we just let people be happy! Again, I know lots of heterosexual couples that have no business being married......and the mormon church spent $25 million against gay marriage???? How many mouths would $25 million feed....gross.....just my venting as usual.

I was reminded today how crazy life can be. I bought new tires on Oct. 20th. Spent a large chunk of money so we could be safe on the roads this winter. It is well worth it to ensure that Mariah and I arrive safely on our future journeys. This afternoon I came out to a big fat flat tire! My jaw hit the ground. At first I was angry and stressed because I couldn't do anything about it until our meetings at school were over. All I could think about all day was the possibility of having to fork up another $110 for a tire. This took over my brain for the better part of the day. I kept thinking about what horrible luck I have and why now? Well, first the AAA guy was incredibly nice and he arrived within 30 minutes. Mariah was SOOOO excited to be able to ride in this big truck. She squealed with joy! That was worth the tire drama. When I took the car to Merchant I was waiting for them to tell me the damage. They came back to tell me that I had a huge screw in my tire....oh man! It was HUGE! After about 45 minutes they came back and said....."ready to roll". I walked up to the counter waiting to pull out my credit card....sadly....and sure enough they didn't charge me a penny. My stressful day turned out to be a pretty good day and taught me that even when you think shit happens.....it probably happens for a very good reason. :-)

Let's see how my psychic ability works out tomorrow. I predicted Obama would be our next president back in June of 2006.......hmmmm lets see what happens!

HAPPY ELECTION DAY TOMORROW!!!!!

Monday, October 27, 2008

Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds for Obama!

Last night was an incredible night! Dave and Tim played in downtown Richmond last night for FREE! The concert was in support of Barack Obama. Me, Kristen, MJ and Peter had a blast and I am anxious to get a hold of the CD's in the future. Dave had some great talking moments. I share his views on taxes. He said that he is actually looking forward to paying more taxes so people like me can catch a break. If someday I am ever making over $250K then I will be more than happy to give middle class a tax break. After busting my butt since I was 15 years old and I still to this day live pay check to paycheck.....if I could give back.....hell yeah I would give back. The republican party comes across greedy to me. I vowed a long time ago that money would not rule my life....I have seen it do ugly things to people.....yuk!

Friday, October 10, 2008

This says it all.....

Dan, Virginia

October 10th, 2008 1:04 pm ET

I am a 62 year old white male who has never voted Democratic on a presidential election but my wife and I are voting for Mr. Obama this year. In the last several weeks, I have lost about half of my 401K and I am terrified at the prospect that I may never be able to retire. Mr. McCain, you have not given me any reason to believe that you relate to people like me, nor have you shown any real leadership on finding a solution for this mess we are in. All I have seen from you are political stunts and gimmicks. I am trying to be respectful here, but John, we are losing our savings, our home, our life and you are going around bringing up old smears and injecting fear among the people at the time when we need a leader that can bring us together and lift us up? Perhaps you will never understand this because you are fortunate enough to have 7 homes and numerous vehicles and a fortune from your wife, but Americans are hurting and they will remember who is looking out for them. So stop this despicable campaign that you are conducting and show some leadership. I used to have a great deal of respect for you. In fact, I voted for you in the primary but it’s sad to say that you have changed and with that, you have lost my vote.